Who Made Taylor Swift’s The Tortured Poets Department?

has collaborated with many different artists over the years, from rappers to country stars. In her recent projects, Swift has worked with the same group of producers, songwriters, and featured artists. This is evident in , released on April 19, which has only seven people listed in the writing and production credits. The majority of the songs are written by Swift, her long-time collaborator Jack Antonoff, and The National’s Aaron Dessner.

Antonoff and Swift have worked closely since 2014’s 1989, and his production and songwriting have become synonymous with her albums. Before the release of The Tortured Poets Department, however, Antonoff refused to confirm or deny his involvement in the album. In an interview with a local Dutch newspaper, the 39-year-old producer became visibly upset when asked about his involvement. “You know I do not discuss that,” he said during the interview before hanging up the phone. “If you are seeking clickbait, you have come to the wrong place. Thank you for this conversation.” 

He has since changed his tune and expressed his delight with the album on social media. “Love this album more than I can say …. love you all very much … more later very overwhelmed … love you taylor,” he wrote in a social media post.

Here are all of the collaborators on Swift’s new album, The Tortured Poets Department:

Jack Antonoff

Swift and Antonoff first collaborated in 2013 on a song called “Sweeter Than Fiction” for the movie One Chance. They have been inseparable ever since. He has worked on every album since 1989—including all four of her rerecorded albums. On this latest album, Antonoff has 16 production credits and 10 songwriting credits. 

Aaron Dessner

Dessner is a newer collaborator on Swift’s roster. Swift and Antonoff brought Dessner into the fold during the making of folklore—an album that went on to win Album of the Year at the 2021 Grammy Awards. Their collaboration continued throughout this new phase in Swift’s career, and he has credits on evermore, Midnights, three of her rerecorded albums—Fearless (Taylor’s Version), Speak Now (Taylor’s Version), and Red (Taylor’s Version)—and now The Tortured Poets Department. He has 16 production credits and 15 songwriting credits across the album, including songs like “So Long, London,” “But Daddy, I Love Him,” and “Clara Bow.”

Post Malone

Post Malone is an unexpected addition to Swift’s world. Their musical styles rarely intersect, but Post Malone seems to be everywhere these days. If Beyoncé can find a way to feature him on her album, so can Swift. He is one of the two featured artists on the album and one of the few songwriters. He lends his vocals on the opening track, “Fortnight,” which Swifts announced as the album’s lead single. 

The first single from The Tortured Poets Department is…………. Fortnight featuring 🤍 I’ve been such a huge fan of Post because of the writer he is, his musical experimentation and those melodies he creates that just stick in your head forever. I got to witness that… — Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13)

Florence Welch

Florence Welch does not make frequent appearances as a featured artist, but when she does, it is a special occasion. The singer made a rare appearance on someone else’s album, giving Swift that honor, on the song “Florida!!!” Welch also joins the exclusive list of songwriters on this album. The singer praised Swift in an Instagram post, saying, “Me and my ghosts, we had a hell of a time. Honored to be in this department.”